Small & Home-Based Business

Stimulating Economies

“Entrepreneurship represents the best, if not the only hope for building stronger economies and communities in rural America.” (Charles W. Fluharty, Director, the Rural Policy Research Institute)

In recent years, changing world markets and policies have had major effects on the U.S. economy. With the loss of significant numbers of manufacturing and agriculture-related jobs, many parts of rural America have suffered severe economic downturns, and communities are looking for new ways to expand economic opportunities. Research shows that fostering the growth of small and home-based businesses can be an important economic development strategy.

According to the Small Business Administration, there are approximately 24 million small businesses in the U.S. “In 1997, the U.S. economy created nearly 3 million new jobs, with 6 out of 10 of the industries adding new jobs being small-business-dominated industries. Small firms hire a larger proportion of employees who are younger workers, older workers, women, or workers who prefer to work part-time. Small businesses also provide 67 percent of workers with their first jobs and initial on-the-job training in basic skills.”

Fostering small and home-based businesses is particularly important to rural communities, where small markets and limited availability of skilled labor may prevent the development of large-scale firms. Rural communities that promote new and innovative small enterprises can stimulate new employment opportunities and expand the local tax base, often contributing to each citizen’s quality of life.

In collaboration with land-grant universities and other partners, NIFA is helping rural entrepreneurs capitalize on local opportunities in three specific ways:

178 thoughts on “Small & Home-Based Business

  1. Hey there, it’s Nichole Mingus. As i read through your blog I discovered that you are really dedicated and provide useful information, so I checked your website at alexa.com and found out that you are not receiving very much traffic. If you want to take your Business to the next level by increasing traffic, visitors and therefore your potential income you should check out this online course for traffic generating –> http://bit.ly/14P7eMq If you have any questions you can send me an email, have a nice day!

  2. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to know a lot about this, such as you wrote the guide
    in it or something. I think that you can do with a few percent to pressure the message home a bit, but other than that,
    that is wonderful blog. An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

  3. Hey there, it’s Gerry Avita. As i read through your blog I discovered that you are really dedicated and provide useful information, so I checked your website at alexa.com and found out that you are not receiving very much traffic. If you want to take your Business to the next level by increasing traffic, visitors and therefore your potential income you should check out this online course for traffic generating –> http://bit.ly/14P7eMq If you have any questions you can send me an email, have a nice day!

  4. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot
    about this, like you wrote the book in it
    or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive
    the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog.
    A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  5. Greate post. Keep writing such kind of information on your site.
    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hello there, You’ve performed an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg
    it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

    • Thanks for visiting. Just a Note: I noticed that the website that is attached to your name is down. Another option for you is a new Blogging platform that is ranked very high. All you have to do is to just start using it. Everything is already setup. See PoorMansHelp.com

    • Thanks for visiting. I used to live just north of you in Kilgore, TX. Just a Note: I noticed that the website that is attached to your name is down. Another option for you is a new Blogging platform that is ranked very high. All you have to do is to just start using it. Everything is already setup. See PoorMansHelp.com

  6. I work and earn income online sharing entrepreneurs tips and tricks.
    Distractions can come in the form of pop-up ads, emails, instant messages, and those are only from the computer.
    You could possibly encounter a similar successful folks on social networks consistently.

  7. Pingback: dfgurtgurt

  8. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I will learn
    plenty of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  9. Hello! I know this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.

    Does managing a well-established website like yours take a massive amount work?

    I am brand new to running a blog however I do write in my diary daily.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    • Thanks for visiting. It doesn’t take that much time. I post to the blog everyday. Once you have a topic and what you want to say, it’s real easy. I use these systems to make extra money. There are two different types of blogs I use. (1) Money Making blog is already listed High in Google and Alexa Traffic Rank. All you have to do is start blogging. http://traxad.com/r/PoorMansHelp_AccessPN21 (2) Is a basic Blog that you have to setup and get ranked yourself and do all the SEO yourself. Usually this type may cost you a few hundred bucks to do it correctly. On (1) it’s very cheap to setup and there is ongoing training to help you out. Alexa Traffic Rank is currently at 403, 1 being the Highest and the best. Hope this helps you out.

  10. Hey there, it’s Forest Fama. As i read through your blog I discovered that you are really dedicated and provide useful information, so I checked your website at alexa.com and found out that you are not receiving very much traffic. If you want to take your Business to the next level by increasing traffic, visitors and therefore your potential income you should check out this online course for traffic generating –> http://bit.ly/14P7eMq If you have any questions you can send me an email, have a nice day!

  11. Dear Webmaster! This is Randolph Stamison and I just discovered your blog with all these useful posts. It seems that you are really dedicated. However I noticed that your posts are not optimized for full search engine exposure and you are losing out on a lot of visitors and therefor potential revenue and customers. From a quick glance it seems to me that you are running WordPress on your website. This is good News, because there already exist plugins that take care of these optimizations automatically. If you are interested in trying one these plugins check this website –> http://bit.ly/15gaGx8 If you have any questions send me an email, have a nice day!

  12. Hey there, it’s Ayana Freelon. As i read through your blog I discovered that you are really dedicated and provide useful information, so I checked your website at alexa.com and found out that you are not receiving very much traffic. If you want to take your Business to the next level by increasing traffic, visitors and therefore your potential income you should check out this online course for traffic generating –> http://bit.ly/14P7eMq If you have any questions you can send me an email, have a nice day!

  13. Greetings! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  14. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  15. Hiya very nice web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing
    .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I am satisfied to seek out so many useful information right here within the put up, we’d like
    work out more techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  16. I am really loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever
    run into any browser compatibility issues? A number of
    my blog audience have complained about my
    site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?

  17. Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  18. I feel this is among the such a lot significant info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. However want to commentary
    on some basic issues, The web site style is
    perfect, the articles is truly excellent : D. Just right
    job, cheers

  19. At this time it looks like Expression Engine is the
    top blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

Leave a Reply

